Flores pleased with U-15’s progression


Focusing on competing well in the CONCACAF Girls Under 15 Championship is Ruben Flores’ first goal, but the Head Coach of the girls’ team has his eye on development as well.

Cayman competes in Group A with British Virgin Islands, Curacao and the Bahamas. Flores is excited by the team’s preparations for the championship thus far.

“We are trying to build a culture and a program where the little girls see a future. Playing, studying or as coaches – see how hard these girls are working to be a good group and represent this country proudly,” said Flores encouragingly.

Flores, in his second stint at coaching a women’s national team, holds the responsibility of shaping the girls to be at their best for the competition, which kicks off August 6 through 17.

Flores, who currently coaches in Canada, told Caymanfootball.com that the team’s preparation has focused on improving fitness and technical ability.

“They are getting much better…they will be a very organized team,” he assured.

When asked what he hoped to provide to his team, Flores responded, “Pride for their country; representing it the best way possible, and also a good technical base to succeed in the near future.”

He added, “This group is starting to understand the opportunity they have and step by step change what needs to changed.”

Winning the competition, even though desired, is not the only ambition the coach has. “Yes, I would love to win it, but more than that, I think the magic word is development. There is nothing I would like to have more than these girls playing a CONCACAF qualifier for a World Cup or playing for a big school and advancing their studies.”

Cayman opens the competition on Wednesday August 6 against the British Virgin Islands before tackling Bahamas and Curacao. All Cayman Islands national games will be played at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.

Group A: Cayman Islands, Curacao, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands

Group B: Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Bermuda

Group C: Jamaica, Costa Rica, Anguilla, Belize

Group D: Canada, Haiti, Cuba, Puerto Rico